Just as TMI has grown in size and stature since its beginning in 1893, so has its approach to chapel evolved. Yet whether the services took place within the stone walls of St. Paul’s, in Old Main at the Alamo Heights campus, St. Luke’s Episcopal Church, the Alkek Refectory, or inside today's All Saints Chapel, TMI students have always heard the timeless words of Scripture, imparted words of wisdom as seniors, raised songs of praise, lifted prayers and partaken of the Holy Eucharist.
In 2005, TMI’s Board of Governors approved a plan to construct a 500-seat chapel with three classrooms in its lower level. The beautiful new structure in which to gather for worship and enlightenment would, according to the Board’s Vision Statement, “be the central focal point of our campus and will stand as tangible evidence proclaiming the commitment we have to TMI’s Mission Statement.”
Designed by architect Chris Carson ‘51 and the team from Ford Powell and Carson Architects, constructed by Browning Construction (Jamie Browning ‘61) and managed by Project Control, the chapel includes three classrooms located under the main sanctuary, has a roof that is designed to “float” and invites a cascade of light from all sides of the worship space, and is crafted of indigenous Texas limestone to reflect its Hill Country location.