Outstanding Alumni

List of 9 items.

  • Steven K. Howell ’67 (received 1986 award)

    Vice Chairman, TMI Board of Trustees and of the 1982-83 Annual Fund; family donated 60 acres of land for the present campus; lives in Houston, now executive director of Battleship Texas Foundation to keep the USS Texas battleship at San Jacinto Battleground.
  • Edgar Albrecht '22 (received 1985 award)

    Deceased, 1989; rancher, insurance broker and civic leader, Goliad, Texas.
  • Jerome K. Harris Jr. ’49 (received 1984 award)

    Alamo Heights businessman (clothing shops), active in Rotary and Greater San Antonio Chamber of Commerce, many civic and charitable board memberships, Texas Cavaliers, German Club, Temple Beth-El. With fellow Alumnus of the Year Marshall Steves, Harris was one of the original promoters of HemisFair ’68. Later, partner in Cody-Harris Photography. 
  • Porter Loring Jr. ’47 (received 1981 award)

    Then president, Porter Loring Mortuary; served on TMI board as well as the boards of many other local civic and charitable organizations; now chairman of the board of Porter Loring Mortuaries.
  • John B. Armstrong ’37 ( received 1979 award)

    Rancher (King Ranch); deceased; donor (in 1981) of the Armstrong Chapel built into Old Main at the Alamo Heights campus. Wife Anne, a Republican Party fundraiser, died in 2008. Daughter Katharine is former Texas Parks and Wildlife commissioner, now director of Images for Conservation Fund.
  • Gen. Ralph E. Haines Jr. ’30 (received 1978 award)

    A longtime supporter of TMI, GEN Haines was a guest speaker at the 2009 Military Ball; has made several other visits to speak at TMI, especially at the Alamo Heights campus.
  • Robert M. Ayres ’44 (received 1977 award)

    Former TMI board chairman; former president of the University of South (Sewanee), very active Episcopal lay leader; and children are TMI alumni.
  • Henry Catto ’48 (received 1975 award)

    Insurance executive, former Ambassador to El Salvador and U.S. Chief of Protocol.
  • Tom C. Frost Jr. ’45 (received 1974 award)

    First to receive Alumnus of the Year award. 
    Chairman of the TMI Board/Frost Bank Chairman
MISSION: TMI provides an exceptional education with values based on the teachings of Jesus Christ that challenge motivated students to develop their full potential in service and leadership.
Notice of Non-Discrimination

Based on receipt of federal financial assistance through a Paycheck Protection Program loan administered through the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) under the CAREs Act, the School acknowledges its obligation to prohibit discrimination, harassment, or retaliation on the basis of race, color, age, national origin, sex, citizenship status, genetic information, handicap or disability in admissions, access, employment, tuition assistance, educational policies, or other school administered student and employee programs and activities. Questions regarding the School’s compliance with the application and administration of the School’s nondiscrimination policies should be directed to Matt Duke, Chief Business Officer, (210) 564-6140, m.duke@tmi-sa.org, 20955 W. Tejas Trail, San Antonio, TX 78257, or to the U.S. Department of Education's Office for Civil Rights (OCR) or to the SBA. Please refer to the School’s SBA Non-Discrimination Compliance Policy on the School’s website for information on how to file complaints with OCR or the SBA.

This notice will remain in effect until the School has satisfied and paid off the SBA Paycheck Protection Loan.
TMI Episcopal
20955 W. Tejas Trail
San Antonio TX 78257
phone (210) 698-7171
fax (210) 698-0715